SSRS reports that use a data component

• I'm not a SSRS expert. I know enough to get myself in trouble. Anyway, if memory serves, I recall seeing somewhere a blog post, maybe a Microsoft documentation article, saying that you can use a component of some sort, to provide the data that will be used for the SSRS report. This would be ideal, I think, for two reasons. First, I really don't like VB, which SSRS must use (I think it's VB.NET, but I still don't like it).

Secondly, and more importantly, the underlying database is still in flux. It very likely that the fields I would start designing a report with today, will change to something tomorrow. So, I'd rather write components in a project written in C# that yield the results that would be consumed by a SSRS report in the report project. It will save me the aggregation of having to re-write the report.

Kindest Regards, Rod Connect with me on LinkedIn.

• So use C#.

• Where can I learn more about using what I'm calling a "component project" to retrieve the data for the SSRS report? Is "Component Project" correct or is there a different term I should search by?

• It sounds like you might be looking for Reporting Services data processing extensions, if you're trying to mediate/alter the source data outside of SQL Server or other RDBMS.

• I think you are looking for RDLC reports - which are standalone Reporting Services reports.  Here are a couple of links to get you started:

https://www.c-sharpcorner.com/article/beginners-guide-for-creating-standalone-rdlc-reports-with-s/

https://marketplace.visualstudio.com/items?itemName=ProBITools.MicrosoftRdlcReportDesignerforVisualStudio-18001

If you search: ssrs 2019 rdlc tutorial - there are more articles and videos available.

Jeffrey Williams
    “We are all faced with a series of great opportunities brilliantly disguised as impossible situations.”

― Charles R. Swindoll

How to post questions to get better answers faster
    Managing Transaction Logs