Degree

• How important is a Computer Science degree for a DBA or Database Manager position? I've been a DBA for 5 years now. My bachelor's degree is non-computer science related. I am considering going back to school to improve my career status with prospective employers. I'm not sure if a Bachelors in Computer Science would be the right step or a Master's in Business (MBA). Any advice is greatly appreciated.

• For a manager, an MBA would be better, in my opinion. I don't think a CS degree matters that much for any position in IT. I've never given any major weight over any other. As a manager, you'll need to deal more with administrative matters, budgeting, people skills, weighing impact of decisions to the business, etc. An MBa would be better here.

• Thanks! If one doesn't plan on going into management any time soon, what is good to "beef up" a resume? I already have a bachelor's degree & 1 exam away from my MCDBA cert (blasted elective!!). What other educational areas would be good (certifications better than another degree)? Thank you for the advice.

• what is good to "beef up" a resume

Ummmm... How about a couple thousand posts on a high quality forum like SQLSeverCentral.com ???

Or, how about a list of major accomplishments (gotta all be true) such as "Rewrote CDR dupe check routine to go back 3 months (~120M rows) instead of just 2 months (~80M rows) and to run in just 22 hands-free minutes (hasn't failed yet) instead of 24 constant-attention hours (to sometimes fail)."