Tool Limits

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item Tool Limits

• This was removed by the editor as SPAM

• I am a software developer working primarily in the Microsoft stack. Therefore, the tool I work in every day is Visual Studio. My employer purchases for all developers Visual Studio Enterprise with a MSDN license. Very nice. At home I use Visual Studio Community Edition (the free version of Visual Studio) which is nice, but there are features that only come with VS Enterprise that I miss when doing my personal development at home.

Secondly, I really love Visual Studio Code (CS Code or just Code). It's free also and the huge community that contributes add-ons to VS Code is awesome. I might be tempted to switch entirely to Code, except for the fact that a lot of the development I do at work is for Windows, which Code doesn't support as well as Visual Studio.

Rod

• As a Data Architect I'm primarily focused on ETL in a MS stack.  Official tools are pretty much just our 2 main ETL tools, we don't use SSIS, and some SQL Server interface so either SSMS or Azure Studio.  Other than that it's pretty much up to each person what tools they choose to use.  Personally I use a lot of powershell for lots of things some of it directly part of ETL some of it just doing admin tasks, notepad++ is a must, so is postman for web service work, sometimes soapui but postman is just generally better.  Occasionally Wireshark(useful if you need to know the port of a named instance and one of our etl tools connects via port not through the name...) and hexedit for those nasty non ascii files.

• As an infrastructure guy and former consultant, one universal truth that I've observed over the years is the tendency for useful tools that are controlled locally to be replaced with less-useful tools that are controlled elsewhere.