The Virtual Experience

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item The Virtual Experience

• Totally with you on that Steve. Remote working will suit a few people all of the time, and all people some of the time. But as a way of working creatively it's a pale shadow of doing it in person in a collaborative space. It works better for piecemeal work but in the longer term it is terribly isolating. There's very few people can get by without the human touch, let's hope we can get it back soon.

• I'm not good with time management.  No matter what I am doing I feel I should be doing something else.  This means that I am easily distracted.  The feeling that I should be doing something else makes me feel guilty when attending virtual conferences even though the conference material is stuff will be used for my work.  I find the virtual conferences draining.

When I am at a physical conference venue I find that I am absolutely  focussed.  I come out energised.

As in the physical world some virtual conferences are better organised than others.  Some send clear, precise communication as to how to join the conference whereas others bury it 3 pages down in the marketing material they want to thrust upon you.

I find there are more ways to miss something important in a virtual conference

• Personally I prefer virtual conferences. Mostly because I can limit my attendance to the pieces I'm interested in, but also because they're accessible. More often than not it's a choice between attending a virtual conference and not attending a conference at all.