The New DBA is a Developer

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item The New DBA is a Developer

• Great editorial, Steve.  Personally, this is not a new concept for me at all.  I also started out programming trying to understand how games worked.  I was 9 years old.  I progressed and eventually got into development.  In my role as a DBA, I've said for years that "I approach DBA tasks with the heart of a developer."  By this, I mean I try to automate everything.

There was an editorial a while back (sorry, but I don't have the link to it) about the payoff of automating a task versus running a process manually over and over again.  Granted, there are one-time tasks that just aren't worth automating, but maybe it's worth automating a check for the situation that caused me to have to write the one-time cleanup script in the first place.  It depends on the situation.  I find that many things are worth automating.

For some of the "one-time" tasks, I find myself having to do it over again after explaining (again) why something is a bad idea.  I figure the reason behind this happens is that either I didn't explain it properly the first time or the individual just didn't care enough to do it right next time.

• Heh... "The New DBA is a Developer".  No, Sir... that's incorrect.  If folks are just now coming around to the idea that DBAs need to be "Developers" of the right sort, that explains a whole lot of performance issues, corrupt disk problems, backup/restore problems, and a whole lot of other problems.  As you pointed out, any DBA worth their salt has a library of things they bring with them from job to job and, as we both know, they're not just some "simple DML queries".