table partitioning

• Hello,

I am a beginner in this topic.

Is there a simple tutorial somewhere which shows me how to partition a table by month?

I have not been able to find such a site.

thank you

• Okay... having added a bunch of references about partitioning, read this one[/url] first... It's Gail Shaw's... (don't know why I didn't start there!). Be sure you understand what partitioning does for you (and what it doesn't) before going through all that work.

Maybe Pinal Dave[/url]'s explanation?

There are lots of them. Check on the MS website... around here...

Here's another[/url]

This one[/url] looks good...

You should understand WHY you're partitioning your tables before you do it... Pretty sure Gail Shaw wrote something about that.

http://sqlmag.com/database-administration/how-dynamically-create-and-maintain-table-partitions

• arkiboys (9/3/2016)

Hello,

I am a beginner in this topic.

Is there a simple tutorial somewhere which shows me how to partition a table by month?

I have not been able to find such a site.

thank you

To be honest and whether you're using "Partitioned Tables" or "Partitioned Views", partitioning isn't "simple", especially if you want to do it correctly.

To answer your question, the following is one of the simplest tutorials that I've seen to date. It even includes the single lines of code necessary for each step.

https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms191174(v=sql.105).aspx

There are a shedload of caveats, though, that are not explained in that document and is almost casually mentioned in much of the official documentation and many of the examples in blogs don't even touch on them.