Statement referencing column that doesn't exist yet

• Hi,

I am new, self taught etc.

Im am trying to write a statement that will add a column to database and then make some updates. Although because this is going as part of an update program then it risks being run many times. I want to use the IF ELSE system, but in the case of the column not existing I get an error referring to the update part on account of the column not yet existing. If I put a 'GO' in after the add column it ruins the IF, ELSE, BEGIN, END part

if not exists (select * from syscolumns

where id=object_id('Calendar') and name='RDATE')

BEGIN

ALTER TABLE Calendar add RDATE DATETIME

UPDATE calendar set RDATE = DATE + 36163

END

ELSE

BEGIN

PRINT 'ALREADY THERE'

END

Any suggestions of the method to get around this gratefully received.

Matthew

• The update cannot occur there.

IF NOT EXISTS (SELECT * FROM syscolumns

WHERE id=OBJECT_ID('Calendar') AND name='RDATE')

BEGIN

ALTER TABLE Calendar ADD RDATE DATETIME

END

ELSE

BEGIN

PRINT 'ALREADY THERE'

END

GO

UPDATE calendar SET RDATE = DATE + 36163

-- Add some check to make sure you want to do the update.

-- Cory

• Hide the update in an execute statement:

BEGIN

exec ('UPDATE calendar set RDATE = DATE + 36163')

END

ELSE

BEGIN

PRINT 'ALREADY THERE'

END

• Michael Valentine Jones (3/17/2010)

Hide the update in an execute statement:

BEGIN

exec ('UPDATE calendar set RDATE = DATE + 36163')

END

ELSE

BEGIN

PRINT 'ALREADY THERE'

END

Even better. 🙂

-- Cory

• Thanks for your help guys !

Matt

• Not trying to be a smart guy here...

It's normally a very bad idea to programatically add a column as a matter of course and it's usually really bad if it's accomplished by a sproc that a user may have the ability to execute. Sure, there will be administrative exceptions but, other than that, it's usually a very bad idea.

With that in mind, why are you adding a column in this way?

--Jeff Moden