SQL Server 2016 DBA Training

• Hi people,

I've been working as a SQL developer for a number of years, with an increasing amount of DBA work alongside the day job.  As an accidental DBA I'd like to formalise my skills by doing some training - I'm looking at taking exams 70-764 /765 and just wondered if anyone knew of any good training available - I live just north of Portsmouth on the south coast of England and work in London - so anywhere in that area would be great or an online course would also work for me.  

Any suggestions ?

Regards
    Andy

• If you can afford it look at Firebrand, they are quite pricey but offer a great package, training, hotel, food, exams, training kits and they also offer a 12 month re-training package should you fail the exams.  It is a hard slog, your in the classroom around 12 hours a day training then extra doing labs and studying.

I have used them twice now for 2012 and 2016 training tracks and would highly recommend them.

There UK training centre is in Wyboston, unsure what that's like for you.

• For online courses I've found Learning Tree to be excellent. Courses are designed to help you prepare for the exam so do not include the cost of the exam itself.

Thanks

• I agree, I like Learning Tree courses (near Euston), especially if you get Gethyn Ellis as your trainer. (I think he may sometimes post here).

• I agree, I did my online course with Gethyn and he was excellent. The setup is very good for the online courses. The course material plus headset is mailed out to you and are part of the classroom and can participate in discussions even when sat at home.

Thanks

• Thanks for that - I'll take a look at them both πŸ™‚

• Have a look at QA too, they look to have some locations close to Portsmouth. I've done a few courses with them and they are good. I found their online course wasn't as well set up as Learning Tree.

Thanks