SAN backups vs SQL Server native

• Hi,

I'm an accidental DBA at a very small company, and I'm sure I'm doing all sorts of things wrong. But I am running transaction log backups on our full recovery databases every 1/2 hour and full backups after hours. Not big databases, full backups take 1/2 hour for all.

We're switching servers and SAN and upgrading SQL Server to 2017 from 2008R2. We have a third-party to administer and maintain servers. The VM/SAN guy is pushing me **hard** to "get out of 1985" and stop using SQL Server backups. He claims the new Nimble SAN can take VSS snapshots every 1/2 hour and be much easier to recover, even to point-in-time. I asked about testing backups, which I do every couple weeks by restoring to our test system and making sure our main business application works. He did admit that they only test backups quarterly. But of course, the SAN is great and backups will be fine.

I've researched and it seems most people trust native backups over SAN or VM. My question is this: who's right? I'm being told that hardly anyone in the know is using SQL Server native backups. That's not what my research says, but, again...accidental DBA.

Any advice would be welcomed!

Thanks - Pat

• SAN backup is a backup of a server with everything on it.

SQL backup is a backup of a specific database.

SAN backup is a blunt and, I'd say' dumb, tool.

If you have several databases on your server, most of them would not be highly transactional, therefore backing them up every 1/2 hours would be a huge waste of resources.

On another hand, that one little database which takes thousands online requests per minute, might need much more frequent schedule than once in 30 minutes.

Another point is the restoration time.

If you've got a problem with a single 1GB database, then restoring a single corresponding SQL backup would be faster than even reading through the 10TB server backup.