SAN backups vs SQL Server native

• Hi,

I'm an accidental DBA at a very small company, and I'm sure I'm doing all sorts of things wrong. But I am running transaction log backups on our full recovery databases every 1/2 hour and full backups after hours.  Not big databases, full backups take 1/2 hour for all.

We're switching servers and SAN and upgrading SQL Server to 2017 from 2008R2.  We have a third-party to administer and maintain servers. The VM/SAN guy is pushing me **hard** to "get out of 1985" and stop using SQL Server backups. He claims the new Nimble SAN can take VSS snapshots every 1/2 hour and be much easier to recover, even to point-in-time.  I asked about testing backups, which I do every couple weeks by restoring to our test system and making sure our main business application works.  He did admit that they only test backups quarterly.  But of course, the SAN is great and backups will be fine.

I've researched and it seems most people trust native backups over SAN or VM.  My question is this: who's right?  I'm being told that hardly anyone in the know is using SQL Server native backups.  That's not what my research says, but, again...accidental DBA.

Any advice would be welcomed!

Thanks - Pat

• Sorry, moving to more appropriate forum (backups)

• Hi,

I can only speak for experience but I've seen it happen where the backup software/service freezes the IO mid transaction, its a case of bad time but if you try and use that backup its not transitionally consistent and some instances wont restore or results in data loss. Making it utterly useless.

As a DBA (accidental or not) you and I need to ensure you can recover the database and log backups. For that reason I insist on doing native backups to a central file share, infrastructure then snapshot this. We then have an automated routine which asks infrastructures software for the backups from 7 days ago, these are then restored to a backup test server.