Remote Remote Work

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item Remote Remote Work

• I hope you're right, Steve. The pandemic showed that people can get their jobs done in any location, with appropriate connectivity. I've been working from home (WFH) since March 2020 and am very thankful for it. But my employer isn't flexible enough to allow their employees to work from anywhere other than their homes and not to work any time other than normal business hours. I'm sure I'm not the only one, others work for employers who, even if they let you WFH aren't flexible in letting you work different hours or at a coffee shop nearby. Since March 2020 I've become extremely interested in the various phases of remote work. I know of some companies who've worked out the details so people can work different hours and communicate asynchronously. And others that are flexible concerning where you work. There's just lots of companies/organizations which aren't able or willing to consider anything other than what was true of the factory floor in the 1970s. I know that we've lost good people because of this inflexibility, as some of my colleagues had to prioritize nursing sick family members with COVID over making 9 AM meetings.

I hope that as the nature of work changes, others will learn to adapt.

Rod

• I have been working from home full-time since mid-2019, but I almost never work from other locations because as you said, the ergonomic issues are a big problem. I did do this a couple of times voluntarily though, and brought my external monitors, etc. with me. It was OK for a few days, but I missed my chair a lot.