Perfect is the Enemy of Good

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item Perfect is the Enemy of Good

• This is where experience really shines. The ability to make good judgment calls about when to cut those corners and when you must bite the bullet and do the work for better design, separates the senior from the average DBA.

I think you ought to minimize those compromises to what you think is the best way to do it, but there are definitely places where "good enough" ought to be the standard.

• "The key, the whole key, and nothing but the key, so help me Codd."

Sorry but I cannot agree with this editorial. Im not a senior dba or developer or manager, but as a dba, I should be upholding best practises, no matter the cost. You might be saving an hour or 2 of your time right now, but what about the report developer or the customer buying the product in the future?

Also if a DBA wont promote at least 3rd normal form.. who will?

• I think that knowing the business, trends, data, and database are integral in determining if a less normalized approach is necessary. A fully normalized database is not always the best solution. True, 3N seems to be the goal in OLTP databases. Typically, though, there is a mix of 3N and less norms in a database. Datawarehouses are another example of denormalized databases. Being Sr in your environment helps to understand where it is appropriate to be less strict about the normal forms.

Jason...AKA CirqueDeSQLeil
    Learn Extended Events

• Be good to see an alternative article on how to maintain your standards when thrown into a (purely hypothetical of course) BI/Reporting team where:

• Nothing is documented and the bulk of the TSQL is totally uncommented
  • DDL is done on the fly, on the production dbs, from the SSMS gui instead of with scripts via dev>test>prod
  • Management's default setting is "I just want something quick and dirty. Don't spend too much time on it."
  • Backups are sporadic at best