Need some help troubleshooting my first email alert trigger

• Hi all, I should start by saying that I'm a total newb at TSQL. I kinda inherited the SQL server administration and now I'm trying to write triggers for the first time, with next to no programming experience :crazy:

Hopefully you gurus can give me a hand with this one, it's turning out to be a little more complicated than I thought!

In a nutshell - when enters a sales order in our business app. Each line item on the order requires a commission cost. If the ordertaker forgets to enter the commission cost I want them to receive an email alert letting them know.

I know there are things I could do to make the trigger less resource intensive but this trigger will be rarely fired, maybe once or twice a week at most so I'm not too concerned about that. My goal is to keep it simple and functional.

I took another email alert trigger and started hacking it apart, this is what I have so far and if you guys see any glaring mistakes please let me know!!

set ANSI_NULLS ON

set QUOTED_IDENTIFIER ON

go

CREATE TRIGGER [Zero_Commission_Cost_Notification] ON [dbo].[oe_hdr_salesrep]

WITH EXECUTE AS SELF

FOR INSERT, UPDATE

AS

DECLARE

@OrderNo as varchar(8),

@CustomerID as varchar(19),

@TakerID as varchar(15),

@TakerEmail as varchar(40),

@Recipients as varchar(50),

@Subject as varchar(80),

@BillToName as varchar(80),

@Commission as varchar(80)

SELECT @OrderNo = 'order_no',

@CustomerID = 'customer_id'

FROM inserted

SELECT @TakerID = 'taker'

FROM oe_hdr

WHERE order_no = @OrderNo

SELECT @TakerEmail = 'email_address'

FROM users

WHERE id = @TakerID

SELECT @BillToName = 'bill2_name'

FROM invoice_hdr

WHERE customer_id = @CustomerID

SELECT @Commission = min(select commission_cost

FROM oe_line

WHERE order_no = @OrderNo)

SELECT @Subject = 'Order #' + @OrderNo + ' for ' + @BillToName + ' has a $0 commission cost, please correct'

IF @Commission < .01

BEGIN

EXEC msdb.dbo.sp_send_dbmail