Need advice for logs

• Hello,

I am new to SQL server management. There is a lot of info on the internet but some seems contracdictory.

After listening to a member of this forum I ended up installing ola hallengren scripts. I run full backups and log backups everyday.

I would like to keep my log files small.

I did read that we should not shrink databases because of the loop of reindexation due to fragmentation. I understand that. But what about shrinking the logs? Is it the same? Can I shrink a log after a back up with creating potential issue?

I am surprised to see that the scripts of ola hallengren do not include shrinking of the logs, so it is a bit worrying me. Maybe I should not shrink logs.

What do you recommend for the administration of those logs?

Thanks

• There is no point shrinking the log file as it will need to grow again. The only time I would consider shrinking them is if there has been a one off large insert/update/delete executed.

Thanks

• You would want the log to be at the size it needs for regular operations. If you shrink it regularly you take away the space it needs regularly and in the process end up wasting resources that are used when the log file needs to grow again.

Sue

• Both of the replies above are absolutely right, but just to add that if you want to try to prevent the log files from growing too big in the first place, you could try increasing the frequency of your log backups. This will truncate the log more frequently, (i.e. mark space available for re-use), which in many cases means that the file does not need to grow so much.

• Dear all,

Thanks for your help and time. It is appreciated.

I am a bit lost still as my logs are backed up daily but they keep on increasing. I was reading your point Beatrix when you write that it will truncate the logs... but it does not seem to do it then...

The LDF on the server is 5.2 giga now.

Here is the history of my backup logs :

D-4 : 580 Mega

D-3 : 3.8 Giga

D-2 : 5.5 Giga