Is there such a thing as database file bloating?

• Hello,

I'm still fairly new to SQL Server.  We have a production database at our company that has grown from about 40gb to 100gb over the course of about five years.  What I want to better understand is if the data file can become "bloated" with nonexistent data, or if the file size is an accurate reflection of how large the database needs to be.  From what I understand, a DBA would almost never shrink a DB file, but are there other bits of maintenance that one might do to decrease the size of this file or remove unnecessary bloat?

Thank you for any assistance!

• That is a bit of a loaded question, as it can depend on what types of tables and indexes you have in this database.  At a very high level you can see total vs "used" space in the files with a query like this run within the db in question:

SELECT DB_NAME() AS database_name, f.file_id, f.name AS file_name, f.type_desc,
    f.physical_name, f.size/128 AS size_MB,
    FILEPROPERTY(f.name, 'SpaceUsed')/128 AS used_MB,
    CASE WHEN f.is_percent_growth = 1 THEN f.growth ELSE f.growth / 128 END AS growth,
    f.is_percent_growth
    FROM sys.database_files f;

The used value here is what is allocated to objects within the database.  To see more details you can use this:

SELECT t.object_id, s.name AS schema_name, t.name AS table_name, i.name AS index_name, i.type_desc, ps.size_MB, ps.used_page_count
    FROM sys.indexes i
    INNER JOIN sys.tables t ON i.object_id = t.object_id
    INNER JOIN sys.schemas s on t.schema_id = s.schema_id
    LEFT OUTER JOIN (SELECT object_id, index_id, SUM(used_page_count) / 128 AS size_MB, SUM(used_page_count) AS used_page_count FROM sys.dm_db_partition_stats GROUP BY object_id, index_id) ps ON i.object_id = ps.object_id AND i.index_id = ps.index_id
    WHERE i.object_id > 100
    ORDER BY ps.size_mb DESC;