How to do a basic loop in SQL

• Hi all,
    I have a need to read every record in a table and compare a name in that table to another name.
    In Access VBA, I would loop through each record in a table to read the name.
    It's very simple:
    Dim i as long ' declaration
    Dim mystring as string ' declaration
    Dim recordset as DAO.recordset
    Set recordset = currentdb.openrecordset("MyTable", dbOpenSnapshot)
    recordset.movefirst
    For i = 1 to recordset.recordcount
         mystring = recordset![FeildName]
         recordset.movenext
    Next i

This is a very simplistic way to do it, but that's generally it.  So how can I do this exact same thing in SQL server?
    Can somebody offer some easy to understand advice about how to best loop through each record.
    Also, complete SQL noob here.
    Cheers

• barry.nielson - Tuesday, October 23, 2018 3:55 PM

Hi all,
    I have a need to read every record in a table and compare a name in that table to another name.
    In Access VBA, I would loop through each record in a table to read the name.
    It's very simple:
    Dim i as long ' declaration
    Dim mystring as string ' declaration
    Dim recordset as DAO.recordset
    Set recordset = currentdb.openrecordset("MyTable", dbOpenSnapshot)
    recordset.movefirst
    For i = 1 to recordset.recordcount
         mystring = recordset![FeildName]
         recordset.movenext
    Next i

This is a very simplistic way to do it, but that's generally it.  So how can I do this exact same thing in SQL server?
    Can somebody offer some easy to understand advice about how to best loop through each record.
    Also, complete SQL noob here.
    Cheers

When moving to SQL from VBA or any other procedural language, you need to learn to think in sets.  If I read the code above correctly you are looping through a record set (perhaps a result set from SQL) selecting a specific column.  In SQL you would simply do this:

SELECT
        YourColumn
    FROM