How to become a DBA with no experience

• Hello,

I would really appreciate some advice on how to get an entry level DBA position.

My situation is a bit different in that I have a master's degree in database administration, but have zero work experience. I recently switched careers from biotechnology to the IT field and my bachelor's degree is in biology.

I've tried applying for internships, I've looked for entry level dba positions but I don't seem to be getting anywhere. Currently I'm trying to get into web development as a junior web developer, but is this the best approach to working my way up to a DBA position? I'm very new to the IT field so any advice would be much appreciated.

Thank you.

• Internship might work. Might be able to get some sort of volunteer gig with a church or charity.

Networking through LinkedIn or some such might be your best bet.

- Gus "GSquared", RSVP, OODA, MAP, NMVP, FAQ, SAT, SQL, DNA, RNA, UOI, IOU, AM, PM, AD, BC, BCE, USA, UN, CF, ROFL, LOL, ETC
    Property of The Thread

"Nobody knows the age of the human race, but everyone agrees it's old enough to know better." - Anon

• It seems that quite often people move sideways in a company. The best thing seems to be to get any type of job and then try to move over. Or go for a hybrid position for a company looking for a dev + SQL.

I'd keep doing what you're doing, looking, hit recruiters, something will shake loose.

• Do you have SQL 2005 or 2008 installed at home ? Set up a simulated environment of databases, start replicating data between them, run backups, corrupt a database, practice restoring.

Then you can say I have no PAID experience, but I have set up an environment and am familiar with x,y,z ... You can gain practical hands-on experience

• In addition to the already listed options, try some freelance work. If you can get some freelance work under your belt you could add that to your resume.

Jason...AKA CirqueDeSQLeil
    Learn Extended Events

• homebrew01 (12/4/2009)