How fast is RAID-5

• Dear Forum,

a few days ago we got a brand new EMC AX4 SAN System and a new HP DL360G5 server, which is supposed to become our new SQL Server. However, something doesn't seem right. The best configuration so far yields a write-performance of 45 MByte/sec. I have no experience with Raid-5, but this is by far less than I expected.

What would you consider "reasonable" transfer rates for a regular "big-file copy" ?

Here is the details:

I copy a big file from drive E to drive F, that is from one LUN (on SP-Controller A) to another LUN (on SP-Controller B). Both drives are NTFS formatted with 64K Blocksize and 64K alignment(used diskpart). Either LUN is set up as a RAID-5 array with 4+1 Disks. All Disks are SAS 147Gig 15KRPM. Write Cache is active (360 MByte), Read-Cache is active (75MByte). The AX4 SAN is connected using two fiber-channel HBAs, each running 4GBit/sec. There's no online virus-scanner.

Without the built-in SAN write-Cache, the performance degrades to constant 9 MByte/sek. That is nine Megabytes per second ! On a brand new SAN from EMC.

Something must be wrong. Any ideas ?

Regards

Kay

• I hope this isn't a stupid question but have you updated all drivers for controller and raid. firmware too?

i remember once i was in the same situation and after a phone call to the vendor, all it took was a firmware upgrade to my controller card.

• The performance of SAN depends on so many things that you really need to test it to make sure you have the expected performance. The 9 MB/Sec you mentioned is well below what I would expect, so you need to get it fixed before going live.

On local attached storage using RAID-5 with 6-10 disks, I usually see around 600 MB/sec for sequential 64K read, 300 MB/sec for sequential 64K writes, 200 MB/Sec for random 64K reads, and 60 MB/Sec for random 64K writes using the testing method described below.