Good for the Goose

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item Good for the Goose

• I believe it shows the character of the person as to how they handle the situation. I have worked for State of Alabama for 5 years and now work for private company doing contract work with the Air Force. State of Alabama goes by pay grade exemption for earning comp time or overtime pay. With budgets most was given as earned comp time. You used your comp time up before you had to use your paid time off. I was exempt from this and supervisors would keep up with it "off the books".

I believe if family is involved it should be explained and understood before hand how much you want to put into work. I will do what needs to be done and my wife accepts that (note did not say she liked it:-D.

Even though I may not be given a even swap for extra time worked, there was not issues on the times I did ask for time off. I work as a contract with the Air Force now and they are strict with getting paid for time worked.

Shawn Melton
    Twitter: @wsmelton
    Blog: wsmelton.github.com
    Github: wsmelton

• If you constantly need to work extra hours because you feel you need to get projects completed in this way then the chances are that it isn't being managed correctly/lack of resource. Often my experience of smaller software firms (in UK) is that as the sales grow, the staff requirement doesn't always match & there is pressure to enhance the software. Often this is to meet the demands of the custom/market & comes at the price of de-stabilising the code, therefore increasing 1st/2nd line support burden & subsequently increasing coding times.

I think it depends on what you value most. If you feel you aren't getting a fair deal, move on. Often we stay in jobs because of the good people we work with & a feeling that we want to help improve the products/service but if that comes at the price of your (and family) happiness it's times for a change.