disk space free/total disk space

• I'm trying to find the percent of free disk space from a t-sql script so I don't run some operations and blow up the server due to out of disk space errors. I'm stumped.

Wes

• You could use the FileSystemObject, it will return disk space info. Or maybe cmdshell Dir *.* > diskinfo.txt, then parse out the bytes? Hackaroo! I think you can also get this via WMI, though I have no experience with it.

Andy

• If you have the NT Resource kit installed you can run srvinfo (I'm pretty sure you need the NT R Kit) from the command prompt, using xp_cmdshell as Andy explains above.

The syntax for srvinfo is:

srvinfo -ns \\<servername>

The output is shown below and can be put into a temp table and cleaned up.

Drive: [FileSys] [ Size ] [ Free ] [ Used ]

C$ NTFS 8192 3057 5135

D$ NTFS 8192 3581 4611

F$ NTFS 104141 67558 36583

G$ NTFS 9169 9120 49

H$ NTFS 104164 40172 63992

I$ NTFS 104164 51026 53138

O$ NTFS 104164 88030 16134

T$ NTFS 52078 40512 11566

Or...

xp_fixeddrives gives you the amount of free space on each physical drive on the server.

Obviously xp_fixeddrives is easier but it only tells you the free space, whereas srvinfo gives more detailed info on the size, free space and used space.

Regards,

Karl

Karl Grambow

• I could use xp_fixeddrives then do a compare against the size of the object being written to disk. I think that will work. Where did you find the sproc? I looked through the SQL2K resource kit and BOL.

Wes

• I haven't been able to find any documentation on the xp_fixeddrives sproc. I needed similar functionality to what you're trying to do and I just happened to stumble across it when I was browsing through the extended procedures list in the master database one day (I didn't have anything much better to do ).

Regards,

Karl Grambow

• That proc is undocumented but, if you just run it as is i.e. xp_fixeddrives it will return something like as follows;

drive MB free

C410

D1271

E10356.