DB Size

• Hi everyone

I am doing some test development in SS19 and the file size looks way too big given the size of the test data.  The test data I uploaded is at most a few hundred MB.  Yet, when I checked the file usage it is showing GB which can't be right.  I know Access has this annoying feature where the size of the DB doesn't get reduced if data is deleted.  I had to manually compress/clean the Access DB to get the file size down to a normal value.  I am still fairly new to SS.  Does anyone know why my SS DB is so large?  Please let me know what info you need from to help you help me.

Total Space Reserved 25.70 GB

Data Files Space Reserved 11,080.00 MB

Transaction Log Space Reserved 15,240.00 MB

Thank you

• It sounds to me like the database was defined that large to begin with.  And, no... SQL Server doesn't reduce the file size when data is deleted, either.

--Jeff Moden

RBAR is pronounced "ree-bar" and is a "Modenism" for Row-By-Agonizing-Row.
    First step towards the paradigm shift of writing Set Based code:
    ________Stop thinking about what you want to do to a ROW... think, instead, of what you want to do to a COLUMN.

Change is inevitable... Change for the better is not.

Helpful Links:
    How to post code problems
    How to Post Performance Problems
    Create a Tally Function (fnTally)

• Can I change it?  I would like it to grow as the data gets larger...not start off so big and then the data size doesn't justify the db size.

• It also looks like you are not performing regular frequent transaction log backups.  In SQL Server - when the database is not in simple recovery model, you must take frequent transaction log backups or the transaction log will just continue growing.