Create delete update tables in one database to another database.

• Hi All,

This is sampath i am new to sqlservercentral community,i am not good programmer in sql related queries please helpme to acheive.

Example:-

I have two databases  database1 and database2

database1 has 20 tables and database2 has same 20 tables if anything updated/added/deleted any records in database1 tables automatically it should update database2 tables.

Kindly help me if you can

Thanks,

Sampath

• You likely need a trigger. It's hard to explain how to do this in a post, but look at this

https://www.sqlservercentral.com/articles/auditing-through-triggers

• Are Database1 and Database2 on the same server instance or are they separate?

The triggers could work if they are on the same server instance, but could be difficult to write and maintain the trigger code to properly handle multiple rows insert or update at the same time.  Could you just use synonyms in Database2 to reference the real objects in Database1?

If Database1 and Database2 are not on the same server instance, then you may need some other mechanism, such as scheduled data synchronizations across a linked server or using SSIS, or maybe even replication if changes are needed quickly instead of on a schedule.

• Hi Chris,

currently the database1 and database2 are in same server.just for info i am giving one example

database1 and database2   contains same  tables employee,college.

employee table contains fields employeeid ,employeename and employeedesgination.

college table contains fiels studentid ,studentname and studentclass.

Here my requirement is if any employee added/deleted/updated in database1 automatically database2 should be updated.

Here my requirement is if any student added/deleted/updated in database1 automatically database2 should be updated.

Kindly help me with solution,small example is also ok .