Conversion Fun

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item Conversion Fun

• But aren't you trying to convert it to an integer in the code you supplied rather than a numeric data type?

Granted you'll still get the error but if you run the code you'll get the response "Conversion failed when converting the varchar value '0,.0' to data type int" which isn't one of the available answers.

• ..And answer is in the subject itself...................

• just 3 days back i had a similar issue with isnumeric. If this QOTD had come then it would have been helpful.

"Keep Trying"

• why isnumeric gives true when the content contains ','. May be question seems simple but i am new to sql server.

• I suspect this is due to the way it handles foreign numbers. When I work with countries using format '0,0' I want it to treat it as numeric based on the server regional settings. Unfortunately, it is more likely that isnumeric() is taking naughty shortcuts and replacing certain characters like the comma - regardless of server settings - whereas convert() is not.

• srikanth_pallerla (8/7/2009)

why isnumeric gives true when the content contains ','. May be question seems simple but i am new to sql server.

As per the Books Online page (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms186272.aspx):

"ISNUMERIC returns 1 when the input expression evaluates to a valid numeric data type; otherwise it returns 0."

Valid numeric data types include things like Money data types - "ISNUMERIC returns 1 for some characters that are not numbers, such as plus (+), minus (-), and valid currency symbols such as the dollar sign ($). For a complete list of currency symbols, see Using Monetary Data."