Career, Certification, MCSA?2012? 2016?

• Hello all, 

I'm currently a Jnr DBA working in a company for at least 2 years. 

I do plan to change job because I believe where I am currently haven't given me enough training (after asking a few times) & would like raise. 
    In addition I want to be a full DBA.

But I do want to get certified first.

My question is, what certification should I go for? 

MCSA SQL 2016 Database Administration (most recent)

or

MCSA SQL Server 2012/2014 ( Most widely used in terms of instances in work places I believe at the moment)

I'm worried about taking the MCSA SQL Server 2012/2014 in case it expires anytime soon or few years?

Or should I just apply for a new job and get some more experience first?

Any help on this would be appreciated.

If there's also someone who is willing to talk to me offline regarding this I will be more than grateful

• I think the advice varies slightly depending on where you live and what kind of work you're looking for. A lot of employers these days value demonstrable experience over certifications; in fact I've only worked with one person who had a certification in about 10 years as a DBA. We've all heard of the person who got their certification 

There are some specific circumstances where it might be advantageous to have a certification under your belt (and in that case always go for the most recent version), and that's if you want to become a contractor (in the UK, anyway, it's often a pre-requisite) or perhaps if you are trying to immigrate to a country where your skills are in demand. For most people though I'd say it's not the most important factor. (Again, I don't know the job market outside the UK so hopefully others will chip in with their thoughts).

• Honestly, here's what I'd do: whatever is easier.