Best way to learn Data Warehousing Concepts?

• Hello everyone. I am in need of some advice on how to learn the concepts of data warehousing. My background is in web development, so I am familiar with standard database architecture, but from what I have read so far, data warehousing concepts are a little different. If you could let me know of any websites, books, videos, etc. that you think would point me in the right direction to learn those concepts, I would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance for your help.

• The main or basic book you should read to learn the concepts of data warehousing is: The Data Warehouse Toolkit[/url]

It's a great book.

Luis C.
    General Disclaimer:
    Are you seriously taking the advice and code from someone from the internet without testing it? Do you at least understand it? Or can it easily kill your server?

How to post data/code on a forum to get the best help: Option 1 / Option 2
  • Luis Cazares (9/18/2015)

The main or basic book you should read to learn the concepts of data warehousing is: The Data Warehouse Toolkit[/url]

It's a great book.

Good book. There's other books in that series that are worth looking at; basically all books from the Kimball Group related to the Data Warehouse Life Cycle or Toolkit.

Also, I'd look at the whole Kimball Group website, starting at:

http://www.kimballgroup.com/

and:

http://www.kimballgroup.com/data-warehouse-business-intelligence-resources/kimball-techniques/

Alvin Ramard
    Memphis PASS Chapter[/url]

All my SSC forum answers come with a money back guarantee. If you didn't like the answer then I'll gladly refund what you paid for it.

For best practices on asking questions, please read the following article: Forum Etiquette: How to post data/code on a forum to get the best help[/url]

• This post has good suggestions as well: http://www.sqlservercentral.com/Forums/FindPost1718291.aspx

Luis C.
    General Disclaimer: