20gb temp file and they say "its ok"

• Being a junior analyst i have usually taken the external consultancies advise as "gospel" They do know alot!

However, they have recently created a few new reports thru SP's. The end result is, given the db they report from is only 4gb in total, that one report drives up the tempdb to 8gb, the other all the way to 24gb I rasied this as a big issue - and in response they created a package that shrinks the temp db back to normal after the report is run....

Am i being over-dramatic (disk useage/useable space/processor time) or are they just being lazy in not investigating the root of the problem??

• What the hell type of query are they running?

Generating a temp db six times the size of the database is not normal practice and must take forever to run. I would definitely recommend visiting the query and looking at explain plans to identify the offending code.

------------------------------
    The Users are always right - when I'm not wrong!

• I agree, one of our DB's is a couple of TB with around 30000 users and has heavy temp table usage, our TempDB is set to 20GB (4*5GB) and as far as I can see has never actually got about 50% of the total.

• unfortunately the business users arent very advanced in anything other than moaning.... So we are stuck with a report that is literally a data dump so they can put everything into excel We are addressing this but that is another story!

By explain plans you mean execution plans - done it and 100% is in the "sort by" icon, subtree count is 1.5million There is a huge "group by" clause at the bottom of the query

• Taking into account you user education/situation I'd keep tempdb at 24 Gb if you have the space - forget the shrinking part as well (autogrow is a bad thing). It's not the most elegant solution, but it seems to fit based on the post.

RegardsRudy KomacsarSenior Database Administrator"Ave Caesar! - Morituri te salutamus."