PASS Data Architecture VC presents Mike Fal: SQL Server Table Partitioning

,

Thursday’s (May 17th, 2012) PASS Data Architecture Virtual Chapter has Mike demonstrating some cool Table Partitioning scripts which I was able to attend at SQL Saturday in Colorado Springs in January of this year.

We will also be giving away an Amazon gift card plus someone gets to choose between Itzik’s T-SQL book or Kalen Delaney’s 2008 Internals.

If you would like to volunteer for this VC, please email PASS_DA_VC@HotMail.com

Subject: Eating the Elephant: SQL Server Table Partitioning

Start Time: Thursday, May 17th, 2012 12:00 PM US Central Time (6:00 PM GMT)

End Time: Thursday, May 17th, 2012 1:00 PM US Central Time (7:00 PM GMT)

Presenter: Mike Fal

Live Meeting Link: https://www.livemeeting.com/cc/UserGroups/join?id=57CCCW&role=attend&pw=H%7DBg5%228qD

Eating The Elephant: SQL Server Table Partitioning

Is your table fat? Do you need to manage a table that has billions of rows within it and are overwhelmed by index rebuilds that take more than 12 hours? SQL Server's table partitioning gives the DBA the tools to manage this beast and support very large tables in a way where index management and data retrieval does not become unwieldy. This presentation will take you step by step through choosing an appropriate partitioning key, setting up the partitioning on the table, and finally maintaining the partitions.

Mike Fal

Mike Fal is a musician turned SQL Server DBA, with 10+ years of experience along with some brief excursions into Oracle and Netezza. He has worked in several different industries, including healthcare, software development, marketing, and manufacturing and has experience supporting databases from 1 GB to 4 TB in size. Mike received his Bachelor's Degree from the University of Colorado at Boulder in 1996 and has been caught playing trombone in public on more than one occasion.

Contact URL: http://www.mikefal.net/

Add to calendarAdd to calendar

Rate

Share

Share

Rate