Writing Before Reading

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item Writing Before Reading

• One of the reasons I like Python is that one of its design goals is readability.

I've always found SQL to be highly readable too.

I really took Bob Martin's Clean Code book. https://www.amazon.co.uk/Clean-Code-Handbook-Software-Craftsmanship/dp/0132350882

Following his approach can help you make your code easily read.

I've mentioned before that although you write code to perform a desired action you can write it to be used as a teaching aid.

• Wow! - I have learnt that there are names for some obvious tendencies and people have been researching some of them for decades. I have been further educated. (Now, I am just thinking of some of my friends' taste in music!)

As a contractor, I often have to deal with other people's code (recently, 12,500 lines in one routine.) So I have got familiar with the unfamiliar. Sometimes I do reformat it (like in the case where the developer had put all the code in one line - no CRs anywhere) to help me understand the logic. Just the task helps as well as the result.

I do look to learn - whether the previous developer has a usage or technique I would do well to use. So I hope I improve all the time but  the familiar, that is what we find easiest to remember and in which we feel most secure.

• nicksamuel wrote:

Sometimes I do reformat it (like in the case where the developer had put all the code in one line - no CRs anywhere) to help me understand the logic. Just the task helps as well as the result.

I do look to learn - whether the previous developer has a usage or technique I would do well to use. ...

Yes, I've reformatted the code of others before attempting to debug or modify it.  Never encountered all the code in one line, but there's been quite a few cases of extremely long lines that I had to break up just so I didn't have to continuously scroll back and forth.