Working Under Pressure

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item Working Under Pressure

• Steve,

Years ago I worked as an Emergency Medical Tech -- it put things in perspective. Now when I'm under pressure working on stuff I can easily handle the pressure of a DB being down - yeah, some money might be lost due to downtime but generally speaking no one is gonna die.

Thats not to say you don't feel the urgency, it just helps you to keep your cool under pressure. It's the guys who don't panic who can solve the problem without doing any more damage.

Mark

• I wish you'd been out here! That was some adventure, but it turned out OK. Horse is still alive, about 9 days now.

• I remember a crisis with my former employer I wish I would have had help to resolve...

About three weeks before the fall semester was due to start (I worked for a school district), I had the servers fully installed/configured and just ready to turn on. Unfortunately, I was a one person shop. When I turned everything on, the servers started re-booting in about ten minute intervals. Everything I could see pointed to the vendor app causing the problem. My vendor remoted in and it looked to them the same way so they poured through code only to find their code was solid. I spent more than 100 hours that week in the server room on this problem.

I finally told my boss she needed to pay for a support call to Microsoft to have them help me decipher the problem. It ended up being the Novell client I had to use for our network. In fact, Novell had identified/corrected and reported the problem only that morning. The Microsoft rep told me had I called a day earlier, they would not have been able to solve the problem either. After downloading their fix, everything worked as I expected, late Friday night. At least I had the weekend to enjoy.