Whoops

• Whoops

When I first started working in IT, I was a Novell Netware network admin. I worked in a nuclear power plant, running the network for the administrative staff there. We tried to keep things up 24x7, taking only one break a quarter: midnight to five am. Fun.

We had one server that did something; at this point I can't remember, but we wanted a quick outage to do some preventative maintenance one day. My boss knew it wouldn't survive until our quarterly outage and we figured it would fail at a bad time, given Mr. Murphy's presence in our lives. He really tried to convince the station manager, but we didn't get the outage. So one Friday we left early and went to get an early dinner. My boss told me we had to do one more thing at the station, so we went back just as the shifts were changing and it was one of the slow times.

And he told me to turn off the server!

I couldn't believe it and hesitated, but he said it would be ok. I did, we started the maintenance and his pager erupted on the desk. He pulled out his cell phone and called back, getting informed that a server was down: the same server I was working on. He said we'd take a look and hung up. We finished up and called back to let people know things were ok.

Later he told me that it's easier to ask forgiveness than permission, and this was one of those times. I was reminded of that story by this blog post with a similar story. The content of the story is actually worthy of another editorial, but it's a similar situation.

Years later I had a server that was constantly failing, like page-me-in-the-middle-of-the-night failing on a regular basis. We needed to replace some equipment, but despite the failures, the boss wanted it to be running as much as possible, not wanting us to replace stuff.