Which query method is best to use and when?

• Hi All,

I am attempting to provide some guidelines to the report writers for one of my clients. They do have their own Sandbox db area but as they have read only access to the DW they like to make heavy use of TempDB wth use of very large temp tables. Something which is annoying the production DBAs.

These report writers are pretty much self taught and I want to try and clarify when to (and not to use temp tables) along with alternatives and their advantages/disadvantages.

I would appreciate it if you could give me some constructive feedback on what you think of the following?

These are pretty much guidlines for them to use and not a one size fits all approach!

Apologies for the very large jpg! Note that the bottom right should stay "Global Temp Table".

Thanks

• Take a look at this article[/url]. I think you will find all the information you need.

There are two assumptions that I would revise:

1) 100 rows is the edge value for choosing between temp table and table variable: this is clearly explained in the article I linked, so I won't go into details. Be sure to take the time to read it.

2) Temporary table / table variable is not a valid solution when table is used more than once in the query: it is, indeed. CTEs and subqueries could be not enough efficient especially when you have to access data more than once, so that using table variables and temp tables becomes legitimate.

Hope this helps

Gianluca

-- Gianluca Sartori

• It's simply not a given that Table Variables are faster than Temp Tables and Table Variables are a whole lot more difficult to troubleshoot because their content don't persist even in SSMS like Temp Tables do. It's also not true that Table Variables are "memory only" or that Temp Tables are "disk only". Both structures start out in memory and both "spill over" onto TempDB disk space if they're too big for memory.