Where did all of the SQL Server DBAs go?

• For 15 years, I was a Microsoft SQL Server DBA, Developer, etc with all of the accompanying Microsoft certifications (up to SQL Server 2012). Had to take a sabbatical for family reasons beginning in 2014.

Now that I am attempting to re-enter job market, I have learned that ALL of my Microsoft certifications have gone away and itโ€™s now (1) Data Engineer, (2) Data Science or (3) Data Analyst. Even the US Federal Government job site, usajobs, no longer lists Database Administrator as a job classification!

Which leads to the question: what happened to the DBAs?

• It's all been changed to "Must know how to create 7 Red Lines all perpendicular to each other".ย  If you don't understand the reference there then, especially as an "old timer", you'll get a real kick out the follow comedy sketch. ๐Ÿ˜€ย  The first 8 seconds explain a lot of it... the more buzz words, the better. ๐Ÿ˜€ย  Apparently, the abbreviation "DBA" just isn't a cool enough buzz word anymore.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BKorP55Aqvg

On the USAJobs site, try a search for "database"... that'll help find some of the traditional jobs that used to be labeled "DBA".

--Jeff Moden

RBAR is pronounced "ree-bar" and is a "Modenism" for Row-By-Agonizing-Row.
    First step towards the paradigm shift of writing Set Based code:
    ________Stop thinking about what you want to do to a ROW... think, instead, of what you want to do to a COLUMN.

Change is inevitable... Change for the better is not.

Helpful Links:
    How to post code problems
    How to Post Performance Problems
    Create a Tally Function (fnTally)

• I had not see that before. Very good, but I think the lines need to be in the cloud.

• Ed B wrote:

I had not see that before. Very good, but I think the lines need to be in the cloud.

๐Ÿ˜€

--Jeff Moden

________Stop thinking about what you want to do to a ROW... think, instead, of what you want to do to a COLUMN.

Helpful Links: