when to use Python in SQL Server

• I have a really stupid question.  Lots of articles explain how to use Python in SQL Server, but I have a more basic question... How do you know when to use Python in SQL Server? Maybe part of my problem is that Python can do so many things with data it's just mindboggling... so where do you start? Is there a good tutorial on the "when", and walkthroughs? (I have a PluralSight subscription... haven't seen an answer there yet... but maybe I just don't know what I'm looking for!)

Thanks!

• My opinion - I would use it when I need to do analytics on the data; similar to when you'd use R.

My approach though is to use these tools outside of the SQL engine as I can do the processing on my local machine rather than putting extra strain on the SQL Server (R and Python operate in different memory space than SQL Server, so it can be easy to overload your server).

If you have a beefy server and need to do some heavy lifting server side that would be too painful to do on your local box, then use Python inside SQL Server.

Others may disagree with me as there are benefits to having everything in one tool, but my opinion is that just because you can doesn't mean you should.  SQL Agent job and xp_cmdshell can be used to schedule chkdsk for example, but I would not recommend to anyone that that be the tool to use to schedule chkdsk.

On the other hand, if doing the analytics on the SQL Server makes more sense than pushing it client side, then use Python on your SQL Server.  I would encourage you to set up a data warehouse for that and not do heavy analytics on a server hosting anything that is time sensitive with reads or writes as you are likely to hog resources while doing the analytics.  And you will want to make sure you configure SQL so that Python has enough resources to do the analytics you need...

The above is all just my opinion on what you should do.