whats the advantage of SSIS tool over other ETL Tool

• Hi.

Can you tell me what are the advantages of SSIS tool over other ETL Tools like informatica, data integrator...etc.

thanks in advance.

• 🙂 Mukesh: SSIS is more stuctured as compare to ETL procedures. And it is good in performance as well.

• I've never used any of the others, so I can't speak about their performance and usability, but IMO, the best feature of SSIS is that it is included with SQL Server at no extra cost. It has always met my needs, even back to the DTS days (SSIS is orders of magnitude better) so I never needed to go out and spend money on something else.

• Pretty much what Jack said, a product like Informatica can cost tens of thousands of dollars wheras SSIS is free with sql 2005.

I was an Informatica developer for years before moving to SSIS, so I can only really comment on Informatica. I feel that informatica is much more mature, and the ability to pick which rows go to what transformations, compared to ssis where you have to take all the rows, makes informatica a lot more flexible.

But SSIS integration with VSA scripts is a lot better than the scripting in Informatica.

If you have a very large project to do and have a lot of budget then I would go informatica, otherwise go SSIS it is good and is catching up very quickly

• Hello there: