What would be the best way to learn SQL server 2005 BI

• Hello,

I'm relatively new to SQL server 2005, SSIS, SSAS and SSRS. I'm trying to learn these tools and have looked at Microsoft BOL, free tutorials online, forums, wiley books etc .But i think i have reached a point wherein i would have to invest more to gain much more than what i have.

I have come across sites such as Learnitfirst.com wherein you can download all videos relating to a subject area for around 70$. It seems reasonable.

But would that be better or buying the following books

1]Building a Data Warehouse: With Examples in SQL Server Vincent Rainardi

2] sql server 2005 integration services, kirk haselden

They both seem to be practical hands on books, but the first one gives you a more complete overview of all the BI tools in sQL server.

OR just buy the videos? they dont have any for SSAS yet though?

Anyone use these books or any other good ones?

Thanks for your input

• I have found the best way to learn is to study and take the Microsoft exams. So far I have the MCSA, MCSE and MCDBA certifications. I will soon have the MCTS for SQL Server 2008 (maybe 2005 before that). You learn step by step how to do almost everything. In addition the SQL Server 2005 Bible is a good source of training.

• Like practicing the piano, either you invest the time to get really good... or you don't. There are no shortcuts. For example, I recently answered a post where someone had shown a CTE... the person who was asking the question had never seen anything like...

:WITH somealias AS (SELECT yada-yada)...

The guy said he'd been working with Oracle for 12 years... 12 YEARS! ... and he'd never seen such a thing! Oracle has had CTE's (called "Sub-Query Refactoring" in Oracle help) for many years.

Wanna be just like him? Take shortcuts... wanna be smart in SQL? Practice.... answer questions on forums and try different peoples methods.