What to index, how to index?

• I am making a database what stores a tom of appearance data for our product.  Currently there are about 2 million data points. The table is shown below.  The queries can get very specific, asking for

Select avg(reading_values) from appearance where reading_date between *** and *** and reading_style='300' and reading_mod='1' and reading_colour='12'  order by reading_location

The issue is that it is getting slow, I am new to sql and I hope I don't know only enough to get me into trouble but I would like to know what to index, and the best way to set the index up.

Thanks for everyone’s help.

Mike

[ID] [int] IDENTITY(1,1) NOT NULL,

[Acess_id] [int] NULL,

[reading_date] [datetime]

NULL,

[reading_type] [nchar]

(20) COLLATE SQL_Latin1_General_CP1_CI_AS NOT NULL,

[reading_location] [nchar]

[reading_style] [nchar]

[reading_mod] [nchar]

[reading_colour] [nchar]

[reading_value] [float]

NOT NULL,

[site] [nchar]

(10) COLLATE SQL_Latin1_General_CP1_CI_AS NOT NULL

• It's hard to say, without knowing what is driving the search criteria, what is typically searched on, etc., but I can hopefully get you started, keeping in mind that these are based on guesses on my part as to how your data is distributed, typical searches, etc.

Reading_date looks like a potential candidate for a clustered index.

Several of your nchar columns appear to be foreign keys into various lookup tables. If this is true, is there a reason they are nchars instead of ints, for example?