What I do ... versus what you do ...

• Is that subject good enough click bait? 🙂

My title is a "Database Administrator" but I loosely use that title because I'm a newbie.  My background from 2005-2017 has been Desktop, Network and System Admin / Client Server work.  I'm here because of a prior work with one of the managers.  They called me up asking if I wanted a new line of work that was they new would be a new field of IT for me.  I gladly accepted as my other '5 year mission' was winding down.

I am in a "small" Physician Hospital Organization.  We have several thousand physicians.  We are just getting into data analytics to improve care and meet federal guidelines/goals.  There was a two person analytics team prior to me joining and they are no longer here for various reasons.  One of the main reasons, in my opinion, was communication with the previous DBA, who was a good DBA.  I was brought on as a contractor to document what the previous DBA was doing right before they left.  It was extremely challenging; communication was difficult at times.  I got what I could and was able to continue their work to meet deadlines that are each month.