Viewing an encrypted field in SSRS report

• Hi,

I am building a report in SSRS that returns a field in a table that is encrypted on the SQL server itself. When the report is run the field just returns '#Error'.

Is there a way for the encrypted field to be displayed?

Thanks 🙂

• You need to unencrypt the value before it gets to the report. If you don't know how to do that, it would suggest you don't have permission to decrypt that value; and therefore shouldn't be trying to. 🙂

Thom~

Excuse my typos and sometimes awful grammar. My fingers work faster than my brain does.
    Larnu.uk

• If you don’t know how to do that, it would suggest you don’t have permission to decrypt that value; and therefore shouldn’t be trying to.

Or maybe I don't know how to do it because I have never done it before? I am an IT administrator so I should be able to do it if you can provide some guidance please.

• mharbuz wrote:

If you don’t know how to do that, it would suggest you don’t have permission to decrypt that value; and therefore shouldn’t be trying to.

Or maybe I don't know how to do it because I have never done it before? I am an IT administrator so I should be able to do it if you can provide some guidance please.

Unfortunately it completely depends on how the column itself was encrypted. Was it encrypted before it was inserted, or did SQL Server do it? How was it encrypted, with a key, password? Was an algorithm used, and if so which one? We'd need to know the method first, and we can tell you how to reverse it.

Thom~

Excuse my typos and sometimes awful grammar. My fingers work faster than my brain does.
    Larnu.uk

• Ah right I think wires are being crossed slightly. I want the field to remain encrypted on the SQL server as it contains users passwords. I was just wondering if I can display them unencrypted in an SSRS report which judging by your response I can't do?

• mharbuz wrote: