Verifying SQL server backups - how do I tell if they failed

• Hi,

I want to write a script that will query 60+ sql server instances and determine when the last backup was done and if the backup was successful or not. 

The backupset table doesn't appear to have a 'status' column.  Are there any assumptions that I can make about other columns?  For example, is the backup_finish_date null if an error occured?  Ditto for backup size?

I'm a newbie to SQL server (20+ years of Oracle).  What is a typical/normal alerting mechanism if a SQL server backup fails?

We are between SQL server DBAs at this point and I'm being asked to pick up the slack.

evelyn.schwartz@usi.net

• Hi Evelyn,

Assuming your backups are run by scheduled jobs, the msdb.sysjobhistory table stores the information you want in it's status and run_date columns.  msdb.sp_help_jobhistory queries the table.  See 'sysjobhistory' and 'sp_help_jobhistory in SQL Server Books OnLine.

If you want to be notified of a failed backup job, set up email notification in each job.  To do that in Enterprise Manager, expand the 'Management' folder for the SQL Server instance, expand 'SQL Server Agent', expand 'Jobs', double-click the job and select the 'Notifications' tab.

Greg

Greg

• You can also parse through the SQL Server error logs to check for failed backups. If a backup or restore operation failed, an entry will get written into the sql error logs.

• can a script be written to read through each server's SQL Logs, then return which

servers backups experienced a failure?

i'm looking for the same type of solution without adding an additional step in each and every job.

any ideas would be greatly appreciated!

thanks in advance

• Generally you should have some sort of email notification setup, whether it's using SQL Mail and Outlook, CDO or something like XPSMTP. Then when a job thats running a backup fails you should get an alert of some description from the failure of the job.