Usage of ad-hoc SQL Express instances within an organzation

• Hi there,

I'm interested to get feedback from people on how SQL express is being utilized in their environments. Our current environment is realtively small, but we've got about 50 servers running SQL, most of those are express, with maybe 6 running Standard. I say 'our' but in reality I'm fairly new to the company and I'm their first DBA ever.

I've got approval for a consolidation strategy, which will bring that number down considerably, not to mention making this much easier to manage.

A number these express installations are the back end for IT operational software, like auditing applications, WSUS, backup software, anti-virus & wallboard systems, things where the acceptable recovery option (as per the business) is to go back to the last nightly full backup (VM server image, not SQL DB).

Most of these instances are installed by the applications install wizard, and performed by the windows server guys, so many times I don't even discover their existance immediately (or at least I have to find them vs being told).

I was interested to know if others have these types of instances & how they are handling the management of them. The business & the rest of IT Ops says they don't care that they are express & unmanaged, but they are SQL instances and as a DBA it is still instinctive for me to want to manage them.

Do you insist on these express DBs be moved/installed onto communal standard or high instances? Do you let them go an have them sign off on the risk, knowing full well that one day you'll still need to get them out of a bind?

I should add I'm not looking specifically for advice, but just to get a feel for what others do & what is common plac.

cheers, Mark

• I'd start with listing the installations/DB's I'm aware of and try to identify the data owner.