Updating tables in SSIS

• Please help. I'm new to SSIS and need a suggestion on which way to proceed to resolve the following problem. I can lookup the documentation and implement it, just need to be pointed in the right direction within the SSIS framework.

I'm importing user data from a flat file into a staging table. From the staging table I need to update or insert data in the users table, depending on whether or not the user already exists. At the time I update/insert into the users table, I need to perform some complex business logic on a few of the columns I'm updating, based on values in the users table.

I'm familiar with sql and stored procs. I just don't understand how this would best be implemented in SSIS. I understand how to INSERT data with SSIS, source --> transformation --> destination, but I need to undertand how one would best UPDATE existing tables while joining to other tables and performing logic against the data based on values in said joined tables.

Should I cram all this logic in a stored proc and just call it from SSIS, or should I use the script component and attempt to do this through script, or am I missing an obvious tool?

• There is a SQL command object for doing updates within your data flow.

One way of doing what you are talking about is to use a lookup component to determine if a record exists, in the lookup failure you will get missing records - put your insert here, and in the lookup success you get existing records - put your update here.

In addition to that, you can use a merge join to determine if records exist by using a left join in the merge join and then using a conditional split after it looking for NULL's. The "found null" side of the split will be your inserts and the other side will be your updates.