TVF - Table Variable - Query takes 52 minutes...........

• Hello.

We have inherited a system and some code and this has been flagged as a performance issue. In fact the query times out and never completes and running it in SSMS shows it took 52 minutes to complete.

We have pretty much narrowed the issue down to the use of a TVF, and the resultant variable, in a query - but no idea why it is such a problem, as the code as written is cited in examples as a 'correct' solution on some web sites.

We tries changing the code to insert a temp table after the TVF and then use the Temp table in the query and the runtime drops from 52 minutes to sub-second.

Also changing the original code from an IN (using the table variable) to an Exists (using the table variable) causes the runtime to drop from 52 minutes to 8 seconds.

I have never used TVFs before and am also doubtful that the IN is working as expected - the TVF gnerates a 'table' with only 3 6-digit numbers in it - it is not about indexes or statistics or cardinality estimation.

AccountID

Where the code appears to be using the Table variable as a filter predicate using IN() I do not believe it is.

Here is the original query that was provided that ran for 52 minutes.

Removing the IN statement completely cause it to run sub-second and return 521 rows (for all accountids)

Hardcoding the 3 Accountids causes it to run sub-second and return the expected 5 rows.

DECLARE @Accounts TABLE (AccountID INT);

INSERT INTO @Accounts

SELECT DISTINCT Value FROM [RSSQLDB_Support].[dbo].[fn_tblListToTableInt]('111889,111891,111899', ',');

SELECT AccountID FROM @Accounts

SELECT I.ItemID, I.AccountID, I.RecordSeriesID

FROM RSSQLDB.dbo.RSITEM I (NOLOCK) INNER JOIN @Accounts Acc ON I.AccountID = Acc.AccountID

WHERE

I.BaseObjectID = 3

AND I.AccountID IN (SELECT AccountID FROM @Accounts)