Trigger Question

• Hey guys,

I am a very new newbie to SQL Server Express 2008 (I came from Access), and I would like to change that database over to SQL Server.

The feature that I'm having an issue moving over is keeping an audit of who adds which record.

Every table that I have has an "AddedBy" field that I would like to populate when a user adds a record, but I can't figure out how to get the trigger written to work.

For example trying to add it to a "tblContactInfo".... any directions on how to write it?

Thanks a ton,

Nick

• http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms189799.aspx

USE AdventureWorks2008R2;

GO

IF OBJECT_ID ('Sales.reminder2','TR') IS NOT NULL

DROP TRIGGER Sales.reminder2;

GO

CREATE TRIGGER reminder2

ON Sales.Customer

AFTER INSERT, UPDATE, DELETE

AS

--add your code here

GO

Be very careful with triggers. They can often lead to problems. In 2008, there are some other options, such as CDC (Change Data Capture).

• What should I use then for this situation? I'm sorry, I'm just so sad that I can't assign a global variable for the username and group then have it automatically add that to each new record.

Here is what I am trying to do (to help answer my question)

Every table has a field for "AddedBy" and "MyGroup" I would to have that automatically populate every time a record is added. I use these fields to sort info for queries and reports.

I will look into CDC as well.

Thanks,

Nick

• Test either of these to chose the one you realy want.

SELECT USER_NAME();

GO

SELECT SUSER_SNAME();

Here is an example of its use:

CREATE TABLE #Orders(

[UPC] [varchar](50) NOT NULL,

[SuggestedPrice] [money] NULL,

[Addedby] [Varchar] (45))

CREATE PROC AddToOrders

@UPC VARCHAR(50),

@Price MONEY

AS

DECLARE @Whom VARCHAR(45)

SET @Whom = (SELECT USER_NAME())

INSERT INTO #Orders(UPC,SuggestedPrice,Addedby)

VALUES(@UPC,@Price,@Whom)

Executing the SP as AddToOrders 'xyz',50.00

resulted in:

UPCSuggestedPrice Addedby

xyz 50.00 dbo