The Need for 256GB

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item The Need for 256GB

• But .. 32 cores on SQL Server Standard? I'm wrong or the limit is 24 cores?

• the lesser of 4 sockets or 24 cores, yes.  So realistically the limit on modern kit is 24 with the number of cores on chips these days.

That said, while I've seen some abysmally written crud in my time, I can never recall seeing a SQL Server dedicated VM/Box CPU rather than memory bound.  With VMs, certainly, even on multi system consolidated boxes with, <cough> maybe not the best coding practice in place I rarely see over 4 cores necessary even on large-ish systems (as in multiple tens Tb thousands of users).

Of course if you mix apps and SQL Server on the same box, different thing entirely, but if you're doing that ...

I'm a DBA.
    I'm not paid to solve problems. I'm paid to prevent them.

• Steve, I think you're confusing the request for a higher functional limit with marketing-based limits placed on products from various vendors. Asking for a higher limit on RAM for standard edition products is simply a reflection of the larger data sets and higher demands placed on purchased products by end-users.

In your examples, the vendors have responded that if you want more RAM you have to pay for more of something else. The same process applies to your Tesla. Nice car btw.

It will always be a tug-of-war between end-users (ie. companies using Sql Server) and the vendors. It always has been.

Richard

• The x1e.2xlarge EC2 instance type provides 244GB with 8 cores. Also, the upcoming x2iedn.2xlarge has 256GB with 8 cores. I see a lot of clients running 8 core instances with Standard Edition.

• Within the first few sentences of reading this, I wondered if better code would lessen that need.  You pointed that out in the last paragraph.

But, I think I would tend to agree.  I think the difference between the editions would be in available features, not the size of the workload.

Michael L John