The Incidental DBA

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item The Incidental DBA

• If the second person wasn't interested, what was the guy doing at a user's conference? I would suspect that he was interested, just presenting a diverging viewpoint, playing devil's advocate I guess.

Your analogy to driving a car is good. How about, we all use computers, but if the X starts happening, I'm not a computer engineer (though that's what college tried to do), so I cant tell you that there's a feed back loop due to some quirky property of Kirchhoff's law. (Or any of the other's that I've forgotten.)

I guess this also can be applied to the idea that some business's are using SQL7 (hell 6.5), and are quite happy with it.

Honor Super Omnia-
    Jason Miller

• Great editorial today Andy. I think you presented a point of view that serves to help our fellow

DBA's understand clients and their decisions to use SQL Server when they appear to have no interst in administering or maintaining their installation.

Not everyone has a choice in RDBMS products, sometimes it is vendor driven for their line of business software or website.

• It's the same point I've been making for over a decade, that most people don't need the latest and greatest in high-power computers. I know lots of people for whom a netbook is all the computer they need for what they want to do. Take that concept into the land of databases, and you get this article.

Overkill is overkill. It has a cost, but no return.

- Gus "GSquared", RSVP, OODA, MAP, NMVP, FAQ, SAT, SQL, DNA, RNA, UOI, IOU, AM, PM, AD, BC, BCE, USA, UN, CF, ROFL, LOL, ETC
    Property of The Thread

"Nobody knows the age of the human race, but everyone agrees it's old enough to know better." - Anon

• Jason, the person at the meeting was a developer and my take was that he had a real interest in learning things that would help him at work, didn't feel like arguing for the sake of arguing.