Text file import

• Is there a script that scan take text that is not column delimited and transfer each line into a separate record and each line where it is separated by a number of spaces inserts into a separate column.

For example the format of the txt file is as below but there are hundreds of lines.

TS123    TS123456ght            TB12   TBH        0000

AS234    AF23424322               RI      SSDFF    EDE           7898979879

Each row maybe slightly different in the amount of data in it but i just want a way to import it.

It maybe that i need to state the first lot of data on a line goes into the first column, the second into a second column etc.

• I'd be tempted to import it into a single-column staging table and do the transformations from there.

John

• Thanks for your reply, TBH I am no SQL developer and the issue is pretty much how i would extract the data either from a Text file or after it has been imported into the SQL and give some structure.

• I'm not sure that a relational database is the place to store unstructured data like this.  The reason I say that is that you don't know what data is going to be in what column, and so you can't create your table with anything but the loosest of data types (varchar(1000) for everything, maybe).

If you absolutely have to do it like that, and you're not experienced in T-SQL, then it's going to be a steep learning curve for you.  It's too much to cover in a forum topic, really.  You can use this technique to reduce the gap between each pair of elements to a single space.  After that, you'd probably need dynamic SQL to do the actual inserts into your destination table.

John

• Unless the data is delimited with the same number of spaces with the same type of data in the same columns, its not the simplest of tasks.  I agree with John Mitchell-245523, it’s probably too much to cover in a forum topic.

• Wecks wrote: