T-SQL Pivot Question

• I am familiar with T-SQL's Pivot Operator, I've used it to convert rows of financial data into columns like one would find in a 12 Month Income Statement.  What I've never tried before and am not sure if its even possible is using Pivot when the end results will have 2 (not just 1) set of columns; is that even doable?

Imagine an Excel spreadsheet sheet with 144 rows of financial data . Each row contains a period (between Jam 2022 and Dec 2022) , an Account Number & name and an amount.  This is pivoted so that you have 12 columns (jan 2022 - Dec 2022) with the Account Name & Number on the left going down and intersecting in each row & column is a financial amount corresponding to the Account on the left and the Period at the top.  I've done this exact thing using Pivot.

Now imagine this same 12 Month Income Statement will include an addiotnal row underneath the row that contains the periods. This row will specify what set of Financial books each value is for and there are 3 books: Cash, Accrual & IFRS.  Instead of their being 144 rows there are no 144 * 3 (because the 3 books versus just the assumed 1 before) and the pivoting of this data must now do for the row containing the Periods the same thing for the row beneath that will now contain the books. Instead of the end result being 13 columns of data (1 column for the Account and 12 columns for the 12 periods in the year) there will now be 1+ 12*3 for 37 columns.

Is this kind of thing possible with the Pivot operator in T-SSQL? If so and you want tp provide an example that's great I'm just happy to know if it is and if so what is the proper term I need to use to find articles & example on how to do this with pivot.  Knowing the proper search terms when looing for something is often harder then finding the answer.

Thanks

Kindest Regards,

Just say No to Facebook!