Struggle of a developmnet dba

• I am a development dba, at the place is work i help out developers resolve performance issue, copy/setup/restore databases for dev/test team, administer development and test db servers. Most of the usual DBA stuff I have automated and probably because of this management has started to push me more towards C# developer career path. I do not object, it is interesting piece of work but as I still have to perform dba duties my work comfort has drastically decreased due to increased amount of context switches between my tasks. Task context switches are not good as I have observed my fatigue growing and quality of my work decreased ;/

How does it look on your end if you are a development dba ?

Are you left alone in DBA role ?

• geodrone (11/29/2015)

I am a development dba, at the place is work i help out developers resolve performance issue, copy/setup/restore databases for dev/test team, administer development and test db servers. Most of the usual DBA stuff I have automated and probably because of this management has started to push me more towards C# developer career path. I do not object, it is interesting piece of work but as I still have to perform dba duties my work comfort has drastically decreased due to increased amount of context switches between my tasks. Task context switches are not good as I have observed my fatigue growing and quality of my work decreased ;/

How does it look on your end if you are a development dba ?

Are you left alone in DBA role ?

Hello and welcome to the forums.

I am most certainly not left alone in my DBA role. I also do development. I'm the sole developer of one reporting site, but also help developers with their own projects as needed.