storing Image in Database (SQL Server ) vs File System

• Dear All
    In My scenario we are handled more then 1 TB size images.Last couple of  years we are storing all the images in SQLSERver database (Image Datatype). But now my superior told me here after we will store the image in File system . I have  so many confusion this idea .Please suggest me Pros and cons of both the system. Any one have practical experience store the image in File system how is manage backup and transfer one  location to another.please help me.
    Thank You

• I have no experience in storing images in the "File System".

I do, however, have a huge amount of experience in storing "images" (WAV files, in my case) in SQL Server.  Since the IMAGE datatype was deprecated a very long time ago, I use VARBINARY(MAX) instead.

I decided to store the WAV files in the database more than 7 years ago.  More correctly, I decided to continue to store the images in the database back then.  The reason was simple... as others frequently are, I was, at first (shortly after start of my employment at the company) aghast at the idea that someone had stored the WAV files in the database, especially with as large as each one was (they're a type of compressed WAV file but they still get pretty big).

They had also stored the file path for each WAV file, which made even less sense as to why they decided to store the WAV files in the database.

As part of my research, I told the system to verify that there actually was a file present for each path and that it was viable.  That's when I changed my mind about what they had done because about 15% of the files were missing and 10% were corrupt and couldn't be used.  The files stored in the database as VARBINARY() were all present and they were all viable with no corruption.