Starting a new FileTable

• I have a database with two versions - a production version and a development version. As I fix and upgrade, I regularly copy data from the production version into the development version, so that I have current data to experiment on, and when it's time for a new rollout, I then delete the production verion and restore the upgraded development version to become the current (newest) production version. All this works fine - I have been doing this since around 2008, and using this backup/restore method this way also has me regularly verifying that my backups are, in fact, fully functional.

One of the tables is a table of filenames. There is an associated directory, with files and subdirectories that are 'related' to file records. Users may add files using the database app, or copy them in directly using a shared network path. There is no real binding - the records' ID must appear as the first part of the filename, then any character that cannot be part of the ID, then anything else. So, record E47 may have associated files E47.jpg, E47.pdf, E47 fossil.png (the space may not exist in an ID), E047.docx (leading zeros are not significant), E00047.gif, E47;Let It Be.txt (the semicolon may not be part of the ID), and so on. Badly constructed names are not a problem, they just don't appear with any record. I occasionally run a manual scan for any filenames that do not map to an existing record ID. It's not an error - files may appear before a record is created, but I want to keep an eye on it, and make sure there is not a serious accumulation of such orphans.